For CMAT Exam

AWARDS AND HONOURS

Bharat Ratna

- It is the highest civilian award bestowed by the Republic of India.
- Literal meaning is 'Jewel of India'.
- Awarded to exceptional individuals who have performed in the highest order.
- First given in 1954.
- Criteria Artists who had outstanding achievements in art, science, literature and public service, but in December 2011, the criteria was expanded to include 'any field of human endeavour'.
- The Prime Minister of India makes the recommendations to the President of India.
- Not more than three people in a particular year for the award.
- No money is given to the awardees
- Awardees are given a peepal- leaf shaped medal and a certificate (sanad).
- According to the Indian Order of Precedence, those who are given Bharat Ratna are ranked seventh.
- As per the interpretation of the Article 18(1) of the Constitution, the award cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient's name.

Padma Awards

- Introduced in 1954.
- Criteria Given to deserving individuals for their exceptional services in their chosen fields. All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.
- Names of the awardees are announced every year on Republic Day.
- Conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee (constituted by the Prime Minister every year). The Padma Awards Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary and includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members.
- The recommendations of the committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President of India for approval.
- The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/OCIs) should not be more than 120.
- The award does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees' name.
- The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made.
- Rules concerning the Padma awards:

- 1. If someone is a recipient of a lesser degree of the Padma awards, they can be awarded a higher degree of award only after five or more years since the last conferment.
- 2. Posthumous awards are exceptional and given only if the case is highly deserved.
- 3. There ought to be an element of public service in the achievements of the person to be selected and should not be merely on the basis of excellence in any field.
- 4. Government servants including those working in PSUs, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for these awards.

Padma awards are of three categories:

- 1. Padma Vibhushan For exceptional and distinguished service.
- 2. Padma Bhushan For distinguished service of a high order.
- 3. Padma Shri For distinguished service.

Padma Vibhushan

- It is the second highest civilian award given by the Republic of India.
- Awardees are given a citation certificate and a medal, which has a lotus flower in the middle and the words 'Desh Seva', embossed on the obverse.

Padma Bhushan

- It is the third highest civilian award given by the Republic of India.
- Given to those who have contributed to India's reputation in the global scenario.

Padma Shri

- It is the fourth highest civilian award in the Republic of India .
- Given for distinguished contribution to various subjects like arts, literature, sports, politics, industry, medicine, social service, etc.
- The awardee is not given cash but is given a certificate and a medallion with a three-leafed flower on one side and on the obverse Padma (lotus) and Shri (Mr. or Ms.) is written in Devanagiri script.

National Film Awards

- Given to those who have created cinematic excellence.
- Started in 1954.
- The President of India presents the awards.
- The Government appoints a national selection panel, which decides the winners.
- The Directorate of Film Festivals (an organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting) is responsible for organising these awards.
- Also include the very prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award presented to those who have spent their entire career contributing to the Indian Cinema.

Dada Saheb Phalke Award

Introduced in 1969.

- It is India's highest award in cinema to commemorate Dada Saheb Phalke (1870–1944), the legendary film-maker who made India's first full-length feature film, Raja Harishchandra (1913).
- Criteria Given for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema.
- Selected by a Committee consisting of eminent personalities from the Indian film industry.

Sahitya Akademi Award

- Given to those who achieve brilliance in literature.
- Instituted in 1954
- Given by the 'Sahitya Akademi'.
- Criteria Given annually to those who have achieved literary merit and created new trends by publishing their works, prose or poetry.
- Languages 22 official languages enumerated in the Constitution of India, English and Rajasthani.
- The award comprises a cash prize of ₹1 lakh and a plaque which says 'Sahitya' in the Devanagiri script.

Sahitya Akademi Fellowship

- Given by the Sahitya Akademi.
- It is a prestigious fellowship.
- They select the 'Fellows and Honorary fellows' who are chosen only because of their outstanding contribution to the literary arts.

Bhasha Samman

- Given by the Sahitya Akademi.
- Criteria writers who have made significant contribution to Indian languages other than the 24 major languages covered under Sahitya Akademi award, and also for contribution to classical and medieval literature.
- It comprises a plaque and a cash prize of ₹1 lakh.

Jnanpith Award

- Given by the Bharatiya Jnanpith (a trust run by the Jain family famous for founding the newspaper The Times of India).
- Instituted in 1961.
- Criteria given for outstanding literary achievement to Indian citizens.
- Languages 22 languages listed in the Schedule VIII of the Indian Constitution and English.
- Winner given a plaque, a cash prize of ₹11 lakh and also a bronze statue of Goddess Saraswati.
- This award is not given posthumously.

Saraswati Samman

- Awarded by the K. K. Birla Foundation.
- Instituted in 1991.
- Criteria for outstanding prose or poetry literary works, Candidates are selected from among them whose literary works have been published in the past 10 years.
- Languages 22 Indian languages listed in Schedule VIII of the Constitution of India.
- It consists of ₹15 lakh, a citation and a plaque.

Vyas Samman

- Awarded by the K. K. Birla Foundation .
- First awarded in 1991.
- It is a literary award.
- Criteria The literary work must be in Hindi language and has been published in the past 10 years.