Era of One Party Dominance

Question 1.

Which one of the following is a state where Congress was not in power even after a huge victory in the first general elections?

(a) Bihar

- (b) Orissa
- (c) Madhya Pradesh
- (d) Maharashtra
- ▼ Answer

Answer: (b) Orissa

Question 2.

Who was the founder of Bharatiya Jana Sangh?

- (a) Mahatma Gandhi
- (b) Indira Gandhi
- (c) Shayama Prasad Mukherjee
- (d) Sukumar Sen
- ▼ Answer

Answer: (c) Shyama Prasad Mukherjee

Question 3.

The Indian leader who is the first recipient of the Bharat Ratna Award is

(a) Balraj Madhok

- (b) Rajagopalachari
- (c) B.R. Ambedkar
- (d) K.M. Munshi

▼ Answer

Answer: (b) Rajagopalachari

Question 4.

One of the guiding principles of the ideology of the Swatantra Party was:

- (a) Interests of the working class
- (b) Protection of princely states
- (c) Economy free from state control
- (d) Autonomy of states within the union

▼ Answer

Answer: (c) Economy free from state control

Question 5.

The party that won the second largest number of Lok Sabha seats in the first General elections was the

- (a) Praja Socialist Party
- (b) Bhartiya Jana Sangh
- (c) Communist Party of India
- (d) Bhartiya Janta party

▼ Answer

Answer: (c) Communist Party of India

Question 6.

Institutional Revolutionary Party exercised power in:

(a) Mexico

- (b) Finland
- (c) Cairo
- (d) Brazil

Answer

Answer: (a) Mexico

Question 7.

An Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) is used to record

- (a) politicians preferences
- (b) voters preferences
- (c) senior citizens preferences
- (d) pressure groups preferences

Answer

Answer: (b) voters preferences

Question 8.

The First General Elections in India were held in the year

- (a) 1951
- (b) 1952
- (c) 1953
- (d) 1954

Answer

Answer: (b) 1952

Question 9.

The first three Lok Sabha elections of 1952, 1957, and 1962 were dominated by the Congress Party under the leadership of:

- (a) Mahatma Gandhi
- (b) Indira Gandhi
- (c) Shyama Prasad Mukherjee
- (d) Jawahar Lal Nehru

▼ Answer

Answer: (d) Jawahar Lal Nehru

Question 10. Name the founder President of Congress Socialist Party. (a) Acharya Narendra Dev (b) K.M. Munshi (c) Shayama Prasad Mukherjee

(d) Sukumar Sen

▼ Answer

Answer: (a) Acharya Narendra Dev

Question 11.

Who was the first Chief Election Commissioner of India?

- (a) Shayama Prasad Mukherjee
- (b) Sukumar Sen
- (c) Rajagopalachari
- (d) Balraj Madhok

▼ Answer

Answer: (b) Sukumar Sen

Question 12. The socialists advocated the ideology of (a) Democratic Socialism (b) Socialism (c) Communalism (d) Hindutva

Answer

Answer: (a) Democratic Socialism